Image Alt Text

A Consistent Influence

For more than 100 years, the SMCMA has been a
constant voice for the local medical community

News & Press Releases

SMCMA Gathered Online To Celebrate 116 Years, Honor Contributions

The San Mateo County Medical Association (SMCMA) held its Annual Gala this past Wednesday with members gathering virtually again this year. Participants were treated to a full program that included a recap of activities over the past year and installation of the new Board of Directors and Executive Committee, including incoming President Dr. Barbara Weissman. Entertainment this year was provided by comedian Matt Kazam, The Humor Scientist, who worked the crowd like a virtual Las Vegas nightclub. In addition, Dr. James L. Hutchinson was honored with a special tribute. Dr. Hutchinson was the SMCMA’s longest-serving member before his passing earlier this year.

“The Annual Gala was a great success,” stated SMCMA Executive Director Keith Darby, CAE, IOM. “Knowing that it would be online again this year, our goal was to make this a fun and interactive event. Bringing in Matt Kazam really helped to break up what can sometimes be a pretty staid and formal affair.”

The gala was also a time to recognize those who have contributed to the success of the organization over the past year. Gina Cromosini, SMCMA’s stalwart Office Manager, celebrated 20 years with the association. Thirty, forty, and fifty-year members and those whom we’ve lost over the past year were honored, as well as the outgoing Board of Directors. Dr. Aifra Ahmed was awarded the SMCMA Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes local physicians who exemplify the medical profession's highest values: commitment to service, community involvement, leadership, and dedication to patient care. Dr. Ahmed was honored for her work with the APPNA Community Health Center of the San Francisco Bay Area, which provides quality health care services to the under-served members of our community in a culturally sensitive and compassionate environment regardless of age, gender, race or religion. 

It was also time for new leadership as SMCMA President Dr. Uli K. Chettipally formally handed over the Presidential Gavel to incoming President Dr. Barbara Weissman.

Dr. Weissman outlined an ambitious set of issues she and the Board of Directors will address over the coming year. They include the new MICRA initiative; getting member involvement in the year-round resolution process at the CMA House of Delegates; support for practices around pandemic issues including telehealth and getting vaccines to physician’s practices; and addressing larger concerns that can affect physicians’ practices such as structural racism and climate change, while also working on issues only organized medicine can address such as physician reimbursement and quality of patient care.

There were only a few changes to the Board of Directors this year. Apart from the change in presidential leadership, Dr. Aditi Patel is now President-Elect, Dr. Kendall Allred moved into the Executive Committee as Secretary-Treasurer, and Dr. Cynthia Cooper was added to the Board.

2021-2022 SMCMA Board of Directors




Barbara Weissman, MD - President

Aditi Patel, DO - President-Elect

Kendall Allred, MD - Secretary/Treasurer

Uli K Chettipally, MD  - Immediate Past President

Keith Darby, CAE, IOM - Executive Director


Brajesh Agrawal, MD

Cynthia Cooper, MD

Beverly Joyce, MD

Jiaochen Ke, MD

Connor Lundy, MD

Gurpreet Padam, MD

Jacob Pletcher, MD

Timothy Puri, MD

Aaron Roland, MD


Dirk Baumann, MD - AMA Alternate Delegate

Scott Morrow, MD - Health Officer, County of San Mateo