Image Alt Text

A Consistent Influence

For more than 100 years, the SMCMA has been a
constant voice for the local medical community

News & Press Releases

SMCMA Annual Gala Goes Virtual

For the first time in its 115 year history, the San Mateo County Medical Association held it’s Annual Gala online this year. On December 3, 2020, the Board of Directors, physician members, and members from the community came together virtually to celebrate 115-years of service and honor those who have improved care and the profession of practicing medicine.

The featured speaker this year was County Health Officer, Scott Morrow, MD, MPH. Dr. Morrow spoke about the pandemic and his role in county regulations to mitigate the spread.

“Certainly transmission can occur in any indoor setting…I just don’t think that’s the driver,” noted Dr. Morrow. “The driver of the pandemic is truly people’s behavior.” He went on to state that if people followed the current protocols for mask-wearing, hand washing, and gathering in small groups, “we wouldn’t have a problem.”

The gala was also a time to recognize those who have contributed to the success of the organization over the past year. 30 and 40-year members and those whom we’ve lost over the past year were honored, as well as the outgoing Board of Directors. Dr. Richard Moore formally handed over the Presidential Gavel to incoming President, Dr. Uli K. Chetipally, who will serve for the next year.

Dr. Chettipally outlined three themes his presidency will focus on over the course of the next year – the fallout from the current COVID-19 pandemic, the epidemic of physician burnout, and the disruption of technology. He also took the opportunity to thank all of the front-line physicians, who have risked their own health to fight the deadly pandemic.

To watch video of the online event, please click here

2020-2021 Board of Directors

Uli Chettipally, MD - President
Barbara Weissman, MD - President-Elect
Aditi Patel, DO - Secretary-Treasurer
Richard Moore, MD - Immediate-Past President

At-Large Members
Brajesh Agrawal, MD
Kendall Allred, MD
Beverly Joyce, MD
Jiaochen Ke, MD
Connor Lundy, MD
Gurpreet Padam, MD
Jacob Pletcher, MD
Timothy Puri, MD
Aaron Roland, MD

Ex-Officio Members
Dirk Baumann, MD - AMA Alternate Delegate
Scott Morrow, MD - Health Officer, County of San Mateo